THE BEST HEROES ARE TRULY HUGGABLE!

We’re all citizens of the world, and I think it’s our responsibility to make it a better place. The great news is that today, more than ever, young people are stepping up to make a difference in communities near and far. Each year for the past six years, Build-A-Bear Workshop, through our Huggable Heroes program, has searched for and recognized young leaders who make positive contributions in their communities or around the world. Throughout the years, we’ve heard thousands of amazing stories of young people, like you, who do things both big and small to help improve other peoples’ lives.

The seventh annual search for Huggable Heroes, ranging in age from eight to 18, is now on. Anyone AND everyone, ages eight and above, is eligible to nominate a candidate (and you can nominate yourself) by visiting buildabear.com/huggableheroes or picking up an entry form at a participating Build-A-Bear Workshop store in the United States and Canada. Nominations will be accepted through Feb. 26, 2010. 

Past Huggable Heroes have included such inspiring young people as Patrick, Zach, Talia, Brittany, Robbie and Jenna — there are 69 young community leaders that have been honored since 2004 and I am proud to say they are all my friends. Their projects have ranged from helping children in underdeveloped countries to supporting cancer and diabetes research, organizing toy drives and sending care packages to our troops overseas. You can read all of their stories and see a touching video at buildabear/com/huggable heroes. Plus, if you go to buildabearville.com you will see Katie, one of our Huggable Heroes from last year, interviewed on The Chloe Show and featured in the Bearville Times.

This year, 10 Huggable Heroes, between the ages of eight and 18, will be selected from the United States and Canada. Each will receive $10,000 (a $7,500 educational scholarship and $2,500 to donate to a charity of choice). In addition, the Huggable Heroes win a trip for themselves and a guardian to St. Louis, the home of our World Bearquarters. During their visit, they will meet each other, be honored for their good deeds and participate in a photo shoot for the 2011 Build-A-Bear Workshop Huggable Heroes Calendar. It is definitely my favorite event of the year!

Each of our Huggable Heroes proves that a single person can make a difference. They’ve strengthened my own resolve to give back. I look forward to hearing how you are making our world a better place, too. We recognize 75 semifinalists and 25 finalists during the selection process as well, so, again, please enter today and tell your friends and family too!

Hugs,
Maxine

Love. Hugs. Peace

2 Responses to “THE BEST HEROES ARE TRULY HUGGABLE!”

  1. ~@ Savannah @~ Says:

    MAXINE,

    I ENTERED THE HUGGABLE HEREOES PROGRAM. I HOPE I WIN… LOL. I HAVE MY CAPSLOCK ON… TO MAKE IT BIGGER TO BE SURE EVERYONE CAN READ IT… THE LETTERS ARE TINY ON HERE. SO, HOW’S BUSINESS IN BABW DOWN THERE? MAN, WOULD I KICK SOME BUSINESS DOWN THERE IF I COULD TRAVEL THAT FAR…. I’D MAKE ALOT OF BEARS.. ROFL.. I ALREADY HAVE FIFTY-SOMETHING… NOT SURE… I’M A BIG BIG BIG BUILDABEAR COLLECTOR… YAY! DON’T BE SURPRISED IF I REACH……… 100! I WANNA GET TO 100…. ALTHOUGH MY CLOSET WOULD CAVE IN ON ME IF I OPENED IT TO TAKE A FEW OUT TO PLAY WITH… LOL.

    HAVE A GREAT DAY, MAXINE
    ____________________________________________________
    ~__~ -__- +_+ =)

    SAVANNAH

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Wow! I’ve been working to try to reach Huggable Hero status, but I’ve just been so busy with school! However, my school is making us do something to help others, so this would be a great time to try out my idea of helping out animals. I hope it works and someday, I hope to be a Huggable Hero! 😀

Leave a Reply

